Central Jersey Transportation Forum

Monday, September 24, 2018
1:00 pm -3:00 pm

Middlesex County Fire Training Academy
1001 Fire Academy Drive
Sayreville, NJ 08872


1. Welcome & Introductions (5 minutes) – Bill Neary

2. Forum Business (10 minutes)

  • Meeting Summary and Approval [VOTE]
  • 5/1/18 Resolution in support of the Gateway Project

3. Incorporating Emerging Trends, Technologies, and C enter-Based Development into the MPO Planning Process (40 minutes)

  • Networking Transportation – Jackie Davis ( DVRPC) will discuss how key digital technologies, such as real-time information, Big Data, connected and autonomous vehicles, same day delivery, and transportation network companies are impacting the transportation system, and the infrastructure, institutional and regulatory reforms necessary to prepare for them. 
  • Planning for Emerging Centers– Jeff Perlman, NJTPA
  • Alternative Fuels – Jennifer Fogliano, NJTPA

4. Advancing a Study to update the Corridor Study to Reflect Changing Conditions (20 minutes)

  • Presentation on the need for the study and the Draft Scope of Work – Matt Lawson, Walter Lane, Mike Boyer

5. Healthier Middlesex Coalition - (10 minutes) – Bill Neary

6. Brief Updates & Dialogue (10 minutes)

  • Updates from members as time allows


Current Steering Committee Members

  1. Chair: Bill Neary, Keep Middlesex Moving TMA and former East Brunswick mayor
  2. Rt. 1 Regional Growth Strategy Action Team Chair: Tom Vigna, North Brunswick
  3. Transit Action Team Chair: Jack Kanarek, Dewberry
  4. Municipal representative: Mayor Shing-Fu Hsueh, West Windsor
  5. Mercer County: Leslie Floyd, Matt Lawson
  6. Middlesex County: George Ververides, Tony Gambilonghi
  7. Somerset County: Walt Lane
  8. NJDOT: Danielle Graves, Tom Houck
  9. NJ Transit: Mike Viscardi
  10. Greater Mercer TMA: Cheryl Kastrenakes
  11. NJTPA: Tom Schulze
  12. DVRPC: Jaclyn Davis

2018 Forum Voting Members

  1. East Windsor: Mayor Janice Mironov
  2. Ewing: Mayor Bert Steinmann, Charles Latini, James McManimon
  3. Franklin: Councilman Theodore Chase
  4. Hillsborough: David Maski, David Kois
  5. Lawrence: Mayor Christopher Bobbitt, Kevin Nerwinski, James Parvesse
  6. Millstone: Curt Emmich, Mayor Raymond Heck
  7. Monroe: Councilwoman Miriam Cohen, Robert Hudak
  8. Montgomery: Gail Smith, Donato Nieman, Lori Savron
  9. New Brunswick: Russell Marchetta, Thomas Loughlin
  10. North Brunswick: Tom Vigna, Michael Hritz, Bill Neary
  11. Plainsboro: Mayor Peter Cantu, Les Varga
  12. Princeton: Mayor Liz Lempert, Councilman David Cohen
  13. Robbinsville: Hal English, Ann Bell
  14. South Brunswick: Joseph Camarota, Bryan Bidlack
  15. Trenton: Diana Rogers, Jeffrey Wilkerson
  16. West Windsor: Mayor Hermant Marathe, Francis Guzik
  17. Mercer County: Brian M. Hughes, Leslie Floyd, Matt Lawson
  18. Middlesex County: Freeholder Charles Kenny, Freeholder Director Ronald Rios, George Ververides
  19. Somerset County: Freeholder Mark Caliguire, Francis Guzik, Brian Aronson, Walt Lane