A Circle of Progress
The Greater Pottstown Trails Feasibility Study

A Circle of Progress

Product No.: 17037
Date Published: 03/2018

View/Download PDF

If you would like to request a printed copy (or copies) of this product, please call DVRPC at 215-592-1800 or email the staff contact listed below. If you would like to request this publication or portion of this publication in another language or format, please fill out a request form.

This feasibility study examines the opportunities and challenges of constructing over 44 miles of trails and on-road bicycle facilities that make up the Greater Pottstown Trails network. This network includes four trails that are shared between nine municipalities in Chester County, Montgomery County, and Berks County: the Coventry Trail, the Pottsgrove Trail, the Manatawny Trail, and the West Trail, which is split into the Lower West Trail and the Upper West Trail. The primary intent of this study is to create and analyze a network of bicycle infrastructure that adults of medium-to-high cycling skill can comfortably use. This network will connect cyclists within the Greater Pottstown region and to other trails networks in the region. This study also pursues the creation of bicycle and multi-use trail facilities that enable people of all abilities to travel on bicycle, on foot, and in some cases on horse.

Geographic Area Covered: Douglass Township in Berks County, Pennsylvania; East Coventry Township and North Coventry Township in Chester County, Pennsylvania; and Douglass Township, Lower Pottsgrove Township, New Hanover Township, Pottstown Borough, Upper Pottsgrove Township, and West Pottsgrove Township in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania

Key Words: Berks County, bicycle facilities, Chester County, Circuit, Douglass Township, East Coventry Township, equestrian, land preservation, Lower Pottsgrove Township, Montgomery County, multi-use trails, New Hanover Township, North Coventry Township, open space, parks, pedestrian facilities, Pottstown Borough, recreation, trails, Upper Pottsgrove Township, West Pottsgrove Township

Staff Contact(s)

Translation Request

DVRPC’s publications or portions of publications can be translated in alternative languages and formats if requested. To request translation, please submit the form below. You can also contact DVRPC’s Office of Communications & Engagement at 215-592-1800 or public_affairs@dvrpc.org.

Title VI Statement

The Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC) fully complies with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, Executive Order 12898 on Environmental Justice, and related nondiscrimination mandates in all programs and activities. DVRPC's website, www.dvrpc.org, may be translated into multiple languages. Publications and other public documents can usually be made available in alternative languages and formats, if requested. DVRPC’s public meetings are always held in ADA-accessible facilities, and held in transit-accessible locations whenever possible. Translation, interpretation, or other auxiliary services can be provided to individuals who submit a request at least seven days prior to a public meeting. Translation and interpretation services for DVRPC’s projects, products, and planning processes are available, generally free of charge, by calling (215) 592-1800. All requests will be accommodated to the greatest extent possible.

Any person who believes they have been aggrieved by an unlawful discriminatory practice by DVRPC under Title VI and/or ADA has a right to file a formal complaint. Any such complaint must be in writing and filed with DVRPC's Title VI Compliance Manager, Alison Hastings, and/or the appropriate state or federal agency within 180 days of the alleged discriminatory occurrence. For more information on DVRPC's Title VI program or to obtain a Title VI Complaint Form, please visit: www.dvrpc.org/GetInvolved/TitleVI, call (215) 592-1800, or email public_affairs@dvrpc.org.

Air Quality Partnership
Annual Report
Connections 2050
Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA)
Economic Development District